Dennis Township School District Every Student Counts, Every Moment Matters

Skip to main content Staff Only

Basketball Champs

Dennis Township School District is pleased to announce that both the girls' and boys' basketball teams have won their league championships this season!

As members of the Atlantic Cape Junior High Athletic League, Dennis Township teams play against such rivals as Folsom, Somers Point, Brigantine, Ventnor and Margate.

The girls and boys teams both won against Margate last week to clinch their respective championships, the girls with a score of 31-25 and the boys with 44-38, leaving both teams with a 10-0 record for the season. 

Girls' team coach and 5th grade teacher Jen Peabody is thrilled about winning the title because it is only the second title win in the team's history since the first championship title in 2008.  "We have an amazing team this year with a great group of athletes who worked and played hard together," Peabody states.

Peabody notes a very strong 8th grade squad helped with both offense and defense.  8th graders were Katie Herlihy (high scorer and point guard), Kelcie Morrow, Sydney King, Alexis Jamison and Morgan Kern.  In addition, 7th graders Kylie Graham and Roan Jacquelin contributed greatly to the strong performance this season.

Boys' team coach and 3rd grade teacher Drew Albany attributes their undefeated season to his team's hard work and great spirit.  "This is our second time winning the championship and the first was back in 2012, so as a first year coach, I'm really excited about this win," says Albany.

Recognizing his 8th graders for their leadership, Albany singles out 8th grader Aidan Hofmann as the league leading scorer and 7th grader Ray Bozarth who averaged a double-double.  8th graders were Joel Sheptock, Aidan Hofmann, Jimmy Pickering, Haroon Khan and Tristan Seeburg.

Photo caption:  left to right - first row:  Alexis Jamison, Kylie Graham, Sydney King, Jada Nagle, Katie Herlihy, Jordan Spencer, Emily Kern, Emma Hoff, Roan Jacquelin; second row:  Kelcie Morrow, Chris Tozer, Jake Lynn, Josh Bingaman, Tyler McDaniel, Ben Harris, Luke Czarnecki, Alyssa Gery, Rachel Miller, Assistant Coach Steve Gurdgiel; third row:  Coach Jen Peabody, Tristan Seeburg, Alex Gheysens, Haroon Khan, Ray Bozarth, Aidan Hofmann, Joel Sheptock, Jimmy Pickering, Morgan Kelso, Coach Drew Albany.

Missing from the photo:  Assistant coach Kristina Quinlan, Grace Thompson, Vinny Povio, Jaden Grundlock

Published Print